Rehabilitation

I am wading through the horrid flu but able to blow my nose to an extend ☺ however the above is utterly invaluable to me. My brain is still resistant against new sounds after a lifelong severe deafness. The morning routine of switching on my AB processor involves cringing and more cringing until things become bearable. I am so fascinated as to why my brain is so fussy after all the great achievements from the pre op hearing level of 7% to the grand level of 80% intake. All this after twelve months since surgery. Early days yes early days.

The Invisible Disability and Me

As I write this I am currently poorly with the flu. People (i.e. doctors, audiologists and other CI users) don’t tell you how frustrating this is as a CI user, it is frustrating because I cannot blow my nose. Yes, that’s right, I cannot blow my nose!! This is because the action of blowing your nose puts pressure on your eardrum and can create a little vacuum and potentially cause the electrodes to shift position. When you have full blown flu this is not ideal! I think I managed one hour of sleep as I was so paranoid I might stop breathing while asleep. *sigh*

Anyway, on to the real subject of this post – Rehabilitation.

The rehabilitation process is an extremely important part of the Cochlear Implant journey – you have to train your brain to adjust to different sounds and pitches and learn to distinguish between male and…

View original post 873 more words

Leave a Reply

