A Smile Within

Re blogging this for Sherilyn. Facial expressions are greatly valued by all deaf people around the globe. I recall vividly as a severely deaf child being totally confused by a sarcastic primary school teacher with her application of amusement when scolding and seriousness when complimenting! Everybody should look at each other’s face when communicating and learn something new. There is a lack of eye contact in communication which is sadly increasing with the excess use of tecommunications. Now there are psychology studies of how people avoid reality by averting eyes away from uncomfortable realities which makes for riveting readings!

The Mindful Soul

Hello everyone! I hope you’re all having a great day/night, wherever you may be. My name is Sherilyn. I am currently 20 years old, going on 50. I may be physically young, but I have had more life experience than many people I know. I have garnered much wisdom from all of the trials, and joys, of my life. It seems I was meant to be an old soul from my very beginning.

I was born with a very rare neurological disorder called Moebius Syndrome. It mainly affects the 6th and 7th cranial nerves (though others may be affected also).Therefore, I do not have any facial expression. From birth, my family had a difficult time caring for me, as there was hardly any knowledge of the syndrome at that time. I was diagnosed at 7 months of age, much longer than the weeks or even days that it takes…

View original post 807 more words

Leave a Reply

